46460

YouTube to stream Royal Wedding live April 29

So now there's no excuse for your Royal Wedding ignorance

Technology trends and news by Faith Merino
April 19, 2011 | Comments
Short URL: http://vator.tv/n/1979

In case you haven’t yet reached your saturation point with Royal Wedding media coverage, you can now look forward to live coverage of the April 29 ceremony in the British Royal Family’s first ever Internet streaming coverage of a wedding on YouTube. So for all the Royal Wedding junkies out there, this will be like a Royal Wedding injection right into the bloodstream.

The wedding will be streamed live on YouTube via the official Royal Channel at 10 am BST  (9:00 am GMT, 2:00 am PT, 5:00 am ET) on Friday, April 29 (which happens to be on the same day that I’m getting married—trying to steal my thunder, Kate?). Coverage will include the wedding procession, the marriage ceremony at Westminster Abbey, and the balcony kiss.

And if that weren’t enough pressure for a young couple to face on their wedding day, the streaming coverage will also include live blog commentary directly from the Royal Channel to note important details and share interesting insights as the event rolls out.

You’re probably thinking, “I wish I could get more involved. Maybe send them a present? A George Foreman grill?” The Royal Channel has anticipated your desires and has set up a virtual guestbook where visitors can upload their video messages of congratulations to the couple. And since a George Foreman grill will likely go unused, the Royal Channel has set up a charity fund for visitors who want to donate in honor of the couple’s wedding.

Additionally, the channel features a map of the wedding procession from Buckingham Palace to Westminster Abbey, as well as a ticker counting down the days, hours, and minutes until the event. Google will also be chipping in with Google Earth 3D imagery of a “Royal’s-eye-view” of the wedding procession, including notable landmarks and the five different tree species that can be seen along the way.

And people love them some Royal Wedding. The marriage of the Queen’s sister Princess Margaret to Antony Armstrong-Jones in 1960 was the first Royal Wedding to be broadcast live on television and garnered more than 20 million viewers. Naturally, other Royal Weddings followed suit, including the wedding of Princess Diana and Prince Charles in 1981, which drew 750 million viewers, and the 1986 marriage of Sarah Ferguson and Prince Andrew.

But this will be the first Royal Wedding broadcast live via online streaming. The Royal Channel was launched on YouTube in 2007 and now has over 37,000 subscribers and its video uploads have been viewed more than 10.8 million times. 

 


Related news


blog comments powered by Disqus